The Heathen’s Guide to World Religions

You have to read this book:

The Heathen’s Guide to World Religions:  A secular history of the One True Faiths by William Hopper

[I think the newest version is called the New World Order version which is the one I have.]

Seriously hilarious throughout and yet really, really informative at the same time.  My family kept wondering what I was laughing out loud about!  I learned a lot about the major world religions and had a blast doing it.

The only unfortunate thing is that there are quite a few typos and editing issues.  It’s too bad because the book is amazing and deserves better.  But don’t let that deter you from reading it!

After you read a book like this it’s easy to see why us atheists just laugh and toss all the religions out the window.  It really shines a light on the absurdity of it all.

These aren’t quotes from the book, but are some that came to my mind regarding studying world religions:

“Study one religion and you’ll be hooked for life.  Study two religions, and you’re done in an hour.”  (from here)

“Each of those churches show certain books, which they call revelation, or the word of God. The Jews say, that their word of God was given by God to Moses, face to face; the Christians say, that their word of God came by divine inspiration: and the Turks say, that their word of God (the Koran) was brought by an angel from Heaven. Each of those churches accuse the other of unbelief; and for my own part, I disbelieve them all.” – Thomas Paine, Age of Reason, Part 1

“We are all atheists about most of the gods that societies have ever believed in. Some of us just go one god further.” Richard Dawkins

[FYI:  Here’s the book’s website:  http://heathensguide.com/]

2 thoughts on “The Heathen’s Guide to World Religions

  1. I might eventually but not for now 😛 not for a long time. If you haven’t a history of god is pretty awesome as well, heavy as **** but really worth it. To bad I lost my copy when I was half way through xp

Leave a comment